Denizens of the Rice

I want to get a few posts up here to see how they look, while I continue to decide whether or not to move the blog over to Word Press or not.  It’s taken more effort than I expected to set this blog up, and I’m still figuring out (or trying to figure out) how a lot of things work on this system.  Blogger can be a pain in the ass sometimes, but at least I know how to use most of the function over there.  Word Press seems to offer a little more capability, but in some ways it’s less flexible than Blogger (at least to the extent that I understand things here).

So today I took a spin out into the rice paddies on the bicycle.  I wanted to get some pictures of all the birds that set up shop this time of year.  I think they are here for the copious amount of frogs and other critters that are in abundance at the moment.

The biggest birds we get are these cranes.  They’re pretty skittish, but they also tend to be in groups of 3 or 4, which can be pretty cool looking.

IMG_4917

By the far the most common, and tolerant of humans, species of bird is the crow.  These things are all over the place, in huge groups.

IMG_4891

There is also a smattering of ducks lurking in and around the paddies.  

IMG_4909

There ‘s another freaky, penguin/seagull hybrid looking bird that I was hoping to get a picture of, but couldn’t.  I saw one but it flew away before I could get a shot off.  Maybe next time.

Time to run to dinner.  Let’s see how this looks once it’s posted.

11 thoughts on “Denizens of the Rice

  1. Hi Casey! I’m still deciding which blog I like better. I’m leaning slightly towards the new one, just because the layout seems more bright and spacious, but if this post doesn’t post easily, I’ll change my mind.

    How’s the bike treating you? Have you been riding it?

    I got a big kick out of your baby dreams. Say hi to Chieko for me!

    Katya

  2. I love the bird pictures. Your crane looks like an egret. I need a bird expert to tell me if they are the same thing.

    1. it was a default thing i chose…i liked the little monsters better than the other options they had…i think if you start a word press blog you can have an icon of your choosing…

  3. hey Casey – i like this one to and have been also working on my own wordpress blog — will keep you updated when it is up and ready!

    Also congrats on the little baby (girl?). big hugs to chieko for me –

  4. hey Casey – i like this one too and have been also working on my own wordpress blog — will keep you updated when it is up and ready!

    Also congrats on the little baby (girl?). big hugs to chieko for me –

  5. Thanks for the comment Sheryl. I’m going to give this one a whirl for a bit. It has most of the features Blogger has, and some it doesn’t. Looking forward to checking out yours eventually.

Leave a Reply

