Interesting?

I came home from the gym today around 1:30, and after lunch I was intent on performing some yard maintenance despite the misty conditions.  When, upon stepping outside the skies opened up, I took my cue and focused on my backup plan — going for a drive.  Chieko was out like a light on the couch and prodding couldn’t rouse her, so I set off by myself.

I wasn’t sure where I wanted to go but I was hoping for some good pictures.  I’m tired of all the routes we’ve been exploring lately, so I struck off into the mountains towards a ski area that I was pretty sure I hadn’t been to before.  I didn’t recognize any of the scenery, so I’m pretty sure it was my first time.  I made it to the ski resort, where the road happened to end, so after sitting in the parking lot for a few minutes and seeing if there was anything worth stepping out into the rain to check out (there wasn’t), I started on my way back down.

As I was going down a hill, the car coming towards me stopped in the middle of the road and the passenger jumped out and flagged me down.  She was an older woman, and asked if I spoke Japanese.  Before I could answer one way or the other she said “blah blah blah jiko!!”  “Jiko” meaning accident,  “blah blah blah” meaning Japanese that I didn’t understand. As I fumbled with trying to ask the woman what kind of accident she was talking about, her husband insisted that they get going, time was of the essence.  I wasn’t sure what was going on, and was thinking there was a landslide or something.  She seemed to say that continuing down the hill was a bad idea.

They took off toward the ski resort, and I, thinking my route down might be blocked, turned around and followed them back up the hill.  I returned to the parking to check my iPhone Japanese dictionary to find out what ‘landslide’ is in Japanese, and when that didn’t help I called my wife.  She didn’t answer, but I eventually found out via visual evidence and then my Chieko’s confirmation, that what the woman was talking about was a traffic accident.  And indeed, there was a traffic accident.

As I made my way back down the hill again, eventually I came upon cracked pieces of tail light in the road.  As I round the corner, there was a very busted up mini-van, on it’s side, on a bridge.  There were a few people on the scene, and there wasn’t any real panic about the situation, which leads me to believe that either the driver was OK, or someone had taken them in their own car down towards town.  This was in the middle of the mountains, a good way from from anywhere.  

As I continued back down towards town, I passed a few police cars and one traffic car (they patrol the highways and roads looking for people in distress); nobody seemed in too big of a rush.

Which leads us to the boring part of this post, and the one I will focus on.  

Whenever I take pictures of nature in Japan, the ubiquitous power lines are always an issue.  I’m of two minds, one which avoids including them in the picture since they mar the natural environment, and one which accepts them as part of scene, natural or not.  Today, they were peaking out of the clouds and fog seemingly everywhere I went, so I figured I would focus on them.  And thus, here you go, a bunch of sexy/mysterious/industrial pictures of power line towers playing hard to get.  By the way the clouds were awesome and everywhere, the kind of clouds that are maybe a hundred feet off the ground.

IMG_5355

IMG_5357

IMG_5356

IMG_5350

IMG_5353

IMG_5362

I’d like to know if this pictures stands out as unnatural to anyone.  I’ve never used Photoshop or any other photo tweaking software, but I did experiment with this one using iPhoto’s editing program.  The original pic was a little too dark, and this looks better to me.  Any comments/suggestions.  

IMG_5394

Ugh.  I’ve been slacking on my Kanji studying, and it isn’t looking like the trend is going to change tonight.  But the good news is that tomorrow should be my last day of work, if there are no unforeseen complications.  Wish me luck.

2 thoughts on “Interesting?

  1. The thing about editing pictures is yes, they are “better”, but are they real? If the weather made it dark, then the picture should look dark…imho.

    I was admiring a display of photos for sale and a friend/acquaintance said he wouldn’t buy any of them because they had been “doctored.” But art is art, right? If you like to look at it, then buy it.

  2. I generally agree with you Patty, which is why I avoid doctoring things generally. In this case, the doctored version is more true to the actual conditions, at least that’s what I was going for. I messed up the settings on my camera so the picture I took was unnaturally dark.
    Looking forward to some Mexico updates on your blog…

Leave a Reply

