Sunday Sunday

Things have been a bit quiet around here by virtue of the fact it was a simultaneously very busy week work wise and a very dull week everything else wise.  The weekend has been been a continuation, minus the work.  

Friday night we had a going away party for one of our coworkers that was long on booze and a bit short on food — not an ideal combination for sobriety.  So needless to say I was nt feeling especially chipper at 8 a.m. yesterday, when I had to get up for our most recent baby checkup.

All is well with the baby, but again we weren’t all that impressed by the service.  Our doctor seems exhausted all the time, and he really doesn’t spend much time with us before moving on to the next patient.  This time, he hardly acknowledged that I was even the room.  We chose this doctor because he has a great reputation and has been in the business for a long time, so I don’t doubt his abilities at all, but I think Chieko and I are both disappointed with the service/bedside manner.  Maybe it’s just the way they do it in Japan.

Aside from that, the doctor was also less willing to commit to saying whether or not the baby is a boy or girl.  He couldn’t get a good enough shot of the naughty bits on the ultrasound to be certain, and as he was apparently pressed for time, wasn’t willing to spend too much time trying to figure it out.  So I guess we should have a girl’s name handy as well, just in case.

IMG_5327

Once we got back home, I basically lounged around watching baseball and slipping in and out of consciousness for the majority of the day.  It was cloudy and rainy, so the weather and my headache were a good enough excuse not to be very motivated.  I finally up and about late in the afternoon, spending an hour or so in the garden, then taking a bike ride out to to the river.  We’re getting a daily supply of tomatoes and eggplant, and our green pepper plants have started producing with a vengeance.  The good news is that our cucumber plants are slowly starting to sprout again as well.  For a while any new cukes that started growing died almost instantly; now they seem to be lasting longer and getting bigger.  

Today I’m back on top of my game, enjoying some coffee and a Sox game on the computer.  It’s been raining almost every day for the last week or so, and the yard is getting pretty overwhelmed by weeds.  I’d like to get out and clean up a bit, but of course it’s raining again today.  If it clears up for any length of time I’ll get out into the yard.  I’ve also got a bit of an urge to get out and go somewhere, so we’ll see what happens.  If I do anything of note perhaps there will be another blog post later this evening.  

These pictures are from Toyama prefecture, taken at a rest area on the highway during our drive home from Niigata last weekend.  I was struck by the green-ness of everything, and the clarity of the mountains.  Purdy.

IMG_5328

4 thoughts on “Sunday Sunday

Leave a Reply

