Beach Baby

I spent a few hours at the beach yesterday for the first time this summer.  It was only the second time I’ve been in the ocean this summer, but we’ve been busy and the weather has been funky.  Yesterday was the first real summery day we’ve had in some time — hot and clear blue skies.  

I went with a friend of mine, and we came back to the house after and did some BBQ-ing/beer drinking for a several hours.  We stopped at the grocery store on the way home to stock up on meat and charcoal.  My neighbor works there, and I asked her if they had any charcoal since I couldn’t find it.  I knew they sold it though because I someone carrying it around in the store a few days ago.  She checked around and confirmed that it was sold out, but said they had some at her house.  

We went home, and a few minutes later she came home too, and brought over a giant box of charcoal.  Some other neighbors were also out on their respective stoops chatting, drinking, and enjoying the evening.  It was a good time even though I had a hard time keeping the fire hot enough.  I need to work on my technique. 

I was a bit slow to the draw today and spent the majority of the morning and early afternoon just lounging around being lazy.  But it was another perfect summer day so I figured it was a good time to head back down to the beach for an afternoon dip.  While I was at the beach, Chieko went to a public bath that’s next to it.  The highlight of the day was the giant poo sculpted out of sand, with a 15-20 foot bamboo trunk jammed into the sand next to it.  The cucumber at the base of the bamboo was a nice touch.

IMG_5511

I went for a long, slow, sweaty run after we got back from the beach.  Now I’m fed, clean, and exhausted.  Not long for this world, am I.

We’ve got an appointment with the baby doctor tomorrow.  From here on out we’ll be going every two weeks.  Hopefully we’ll learn something and see some cool ultrasound pics!

Good night.

Leave a Reply

