Give It To Me

Picture 023

I’d forgotten how unnatural it feels to work on the weekend.  At my previous job my days off were Monday and Tuesday, and I always felt a sense of envy seeing people enjoying the ‘real’ weekend while I worked on Saturday and Sunday.  It wasn’t a big deal, and had the flip side of me knowing that my weekend had just begun on Sunday night, while people with normal jobs were getting ready to go back to work the next day.

I worked at a ‘conversation school’ before, which are notorious for reaming their foreign employees in all sorts of underhanded ways.  The fact that everyone had Monday off was no coincidence.  Many Japanese national holidays fall on Mondays, so they conveniently create lots of three day weekends.  By giving everyone either Sunday/Monday or Monday/Tuesday off, these schools discretely avoid having to pay people for not working, or paying them overtime to actually show up.

My current gig, however, has a traditional work week, except of course during summer classes when we teach Monday-Saturday.  And for the first time in a long time I felt that sense of envy again, as I woke up to a quiet neighbor at 6 o’clock this morning and drove uncrowded streets into work.

While my inner drive to get shit done wanted to come home and do some gardening or something else productive, nature is giving me a perfect excuse to chill out, hunker down, crack a beer at 4:30 in the afternoon, and have no regrets if I pass out on the couch at an embarrassingly early hour.  It’s crappy outside, the clouds are low and slamming themselves into the mountains.  It’s feeling like fall, and with it comes the desire for coziness.  That’s a good feeling.

Chieko pulled the trigger today and changed doctors.  I think it was a good decision, evident in the sense of relief she felt after finally calling our former doctor’s office to tell them.  She has been turning the decision over and over for the last week, looking for reasons and excuses to change.  It took a while to realize that the best reason to change was the most obvious, that she just wasn’t happy her doctor.  We were worried about offending the doctor a bit and were trying to come up with some viable reason to tell him why we were changing, and in the end Chieko gave some half assed excuse, but really who cares?  Medical service is a business just like any other, and this guy didn’t make us feel appreciated as customers.  So, off we go.  I’m looking forward to seeing how things operate at the new clinic, but I hope the new doctor doesn’t regard us differently for joining his clinic so late into the pregnancy.

I’m hoping for sunny skies tomorrow, or at least a sky with no water pouring out of it, so I can out and do something to celebrate my one day weekend.  If not, lazing around doing nothing at all might not be so bad.  Until then, I think it’s time to crack another one.  Have a lovely weekend.

2 thoughts on “Give It To Me

  1. She doing well I think. She’ll be in the hospital for a few weeks (2 or so). Chieko talked to her last night but it was a little late, so her mom was tired.

Leave a Reply

