They’re Good People, Really

I didn’t mention it in my last post, but the real reason we were taking off this weekend was to head to Tokyo for a surprise 40th birthday party for my friend Andrew (he of shirtless nipple tweaking fame from a previous post).  I dropped Chieko off at her parent’s on Saturday an then hopped on a bullet train to Tokyo shortly thereafter.

I love meeting up with my friends in Tokyo whenever I get the chance, which unfortunately isn’t all that often.  They were some of the first people I met when I started working in Japan, and am grateful that for whatever reason our paths in life all came together.

On Sunday we trekked out to a friend’s apartment in Chiba to set the stage for Andrew, who was scheduled to arrive a little later.  After blowing his mind with singing, dancing, and cake, it was off to Tokyo Dome City.  This complex unsurprisingly is the site of the Tokyo Dome, where the Tokyo Giants baseball team plays, but it also has an amusement park and a bunch of restaurants.  We played a few frames at the bowling alley, then squeezed in a ride on the Thunder Dolphin, the stupidest, most randomly named roller coaster in the world.  We grabbed some dinner and then headed into Shinjuku for a few games of pool.  I used to be competent at pool.  I now and incredibly sucky at pool.

My friend Sean and I jumped the midnight train to Tachikawa, arriving home around 1 a.m. and just in time to crack a few beers and watch the Red Sox game.  We didn’t make it to the end of the game, but I was hopeful when I passed out and the Sox were up in the 6th or 7th inning.  Bummer to see that their season was done when I woke up.  Now that the Red Sox have been unceremoniously booted, I’m turning my attention to rooting for the Yankees to lose.  I also have to root for the Dodgers to lose because I’ve lost all respect for Manny, the steroid using, old man tossing, teammate punching-loser, Ramirez; which is a shame really because they have a lot of good players.  So it’s either the Phillies or the Angels.  I’m sort of leaning towards the Angels.  But really, who the hell cares at this point.  I can’t be certain I’ll even bother watching another game this postseason.  The thrill is gone.

Here are some pictures of my mental friends.

The birthday boy, flattering.

IMG_5874

Japan is not big enough for this man.  Really.

IMG_5878

I’ve known this man for nearly five years.  Until a few months ago he thought I was Canadian.

IMG_5864

A man of impeccable wit, and a real Canadian, this gentleman coined the joke:

Knock knock.

Who’s there?

George Bush.

George Bush who?

George Bush, Sr.

IMG_5870


IMG_5866

It was another busy day getting back to Kanazawa yesterday, be we made it back around 9:30 or so last night.  Back to the grind today, but four day weeks are always nice.  Good night.

2 thoughts on “They’re Good People, Really

Leave a Reply

