Sand In My Toes

We may be on the verge of November, but it’s still plenty warm here in Kanazawa.

Today our co-workers held a nice baby shower for Chieko and another woman we work with who is pregnant.  It was very nice, and many of us took advantage of the fact that it’s Halloween and wore costumes.  With full bellies and a few hours of sunshine left when the party finished, Chieko and I took a ride out to the beach to walk around.  There’s a nice park there, and also a nice walking path that runs along the beach.  The day seems so short now that fall is here, and it’s getting dark before 5 o’clock.  Japan doesn’t do daylight savings, and this time of year I don’t mind it so much.  It’s during the summer, when the sun comes up before 5 in the morning and sets at 7:30 at night, that I wish they would embrace the system.  I think they tried it once a while ago and decided it wasn’t for them.

Among the man-made debris that is starting to accumulate on the beach now that summer has gone and nobody is there to clean it, the giant jelly-fish are also starting to wash ashore.  These are the ones I was hoping to (and did) avoid when swimming towards the end of summer.  The shoreline is littered not only with their bodies, but various gelatinous bits and pieces that have broken off.

IMG_6032

There was a pretty good swell out today, and a couple of surfers were taking advantage of it.  There was virtually no wind and the sky was cloudless — it was really a beautiful day.

IMG_6055

I’m glad we enjoyed it because it looks like rain tomorrow, and by Monday temperatures are forecast to sink to more October/November-like levels.  I’m predicting that when the clouds clear Hakusan might have its first coat of snow.

IMG_6070

Now that it’s November (or will be in a few hours), the whole baby concept is becoming much more immediate.  We’ve been counting in months until recently, and now it’s down to weeks, and days are a very real possibility.  Everyone says that the first baby is usually late.  I think the doctor influenced my thinking when he said that our baby is ready to go (he already weighs more than about half of the Japanese newborns we see at our clinic), and now I’m counting on him being early.  If the little man is late, waiting is going to be tough.  I suppose I should look upon the prospect of a few extra nights of solid sleep, and my life as I know it, with a little more optimism, but anticipation is in the house!

Happy Halloween!  Have a lovely weekend.

Leave a Reply

