You Know You Want More

 

I don’t intend to turn this into a baby blog, but forgive me for being a bit fixated at the moment.  Besides, according to the WordPress statistics, my daily readership doubled yesterday.

The fact that I am a parent, that I now have a life depending on me and part of my life FOREVER has not really hit me.  I’m waiting for the Grand Freakout, and I’m sure the reality of Ray will sink in (though that seems like a bad way to put it) once he and Chieko come home, but for now I’m still sitting here blogging and doing the things I always do, and there is no child in the house.  Even when I hold him, I only get a vague sense of awe at the fact that he is mine, and that Chieko and I made him.  It’s quite amazing though to hold a little human and watch him stretch and yawn, and work all of his muscles and appendages that he’s not quite sure how to use yet.  And once in a while a shiver or twitch or clenching of his fists that show he is not yet in control of his most basic realm.  Wild.

Both Ray and Chieko are doing well though.  I can’t wait until they are back home, but I made it to the clinic 3 times today to visit.  When we switched doctors we not only got a better doctor, but a place much closer to work, so I can easily skip out during the day and see them.  Fortunately I only had 2 classes today, which afforded me large gaps in my schedule to visit, and also a minimal amount of time that required me to focus on actually working.  I showed both of my classes pictures of Ray, since I have been telling them for the past few weeks that his birth was imminent.  Even though they are mostly boys, and 18 or 19-year-old ones at that, they seemed genuinely happy for me and interested.  They, too, has some sense of anticipation about him.  That was nice.

Tomorrow is a busy day though, and I won’t be able to get to the clinic until after work in the evening.  But we have a 3 day weekend, so I’ll be able to spend a lot of time with wife and son, and get Ray’s room tidied up.  He won’t be spending a lot of time in there yet, but it’s where all baby-related things are, and it needs to be cleaned and organized.

So day one of fatherhood is in the books.  Can’t say I did much, but I can’t wait for day 2.

By the way, thank you all who commented on yesterday’s post.  We’re fortunate to have so many people who care about us and have been looking forward to Ray as much as we have, even if many of you are far away and only Internet acquaintances.  Thank you.

Good night.

 

11 thoughts on “You Know You Want More

  1. CASEY and CHIEKO,

    JUST OPENED THE SITE. RAY IS GORGEOUS…I ‘M SO OUT OF IT…THE BLOG IS FABULOUS.

    THAN YOU FOR SHARING YOUR JOY,IT”S AN HONOR TO CELEBRATE THIS HAPPY EVENT ALTHOUGH I”M ON ANOTHER CONTINENT.

    MUCH LOVE,

    PAULA

  2. Congrats Casey! I have been silently following your parents’ facebook pages and getting updates from my mom for the last couple months now. Incredibly happy for you. Cant wait to meet him.

  3. Hey Casey, I know I don’t know you that well but your mom has been keeping me updated via Facebook 🙂

    Congrats to you and Chieko on such an adorable baby boy! I wish you three all the best.

    Amy

  4. Many congratulations! I still have a present I have to get to you because I couldn’t get to the shower.

    Ray is beautiful, and Chieko is amazing for going through labor that long. I’m sending happy thoughts for a quick recovery for her and sleep through the night thoughts for Ray!

  5. Hi Chieko and Casey,
    Congratulations to All! Ray is truly a blessing as well as a beautiful addition to both families. Cheers to a wonderful new beginning!

Leave a Reply

