Stop Me!!

At this rate my allotted free memory on WordPress will not last long.  Must mellow out on pictures of Ray.  But not today.

I didn’t get to the baby clinic until around 5:30 this evening, but when I arrived Ray was much more awake than he has been so far.  At least for a little while.

I still can’t really tell what color his eyes are.  They are dark at any rate.  I’m hoping my gaijin blood will have infected him enough to give him something other than the standard Japanese brown (which they refer to as black).  They seem to have a grey tint to them, which would be cool.  But of course, baby eyes always seem to change color, so talk to me in six months.  The light in Chieko’s room is too soft to tell, and I suppose that’s a good thing while Ray is adjusting to life outside the womb.

Thanks again to everyone who has been reading and commenting on our happy occasion.  My aunt Patty asked if Ray has a Japanese name as well as an English one.  He does, which is the name next to his English name in the original post on the day of his birth.  I’m not sure if the Japanese shows up on everyone’s computer, but my (and Ray’s) last name, Bean, is rendered as ビーン in Katakana, which is the Japanese alphabet for foreign words.  For ‘Ray,’ Chieko chose the Chinese character 玲, which is pronounced roughly has ‘Ray,’ though the Japanese would spell it ‘Rei,’ and the ‘R’ sound would be a little more like and ‘L’ sound.  The meaning of that character, as well as I can describe (with a little help from Google) is ‘fresh’ and ‘clear ‘.  There’s your Japanese lesson for the day.

And that’s also your blog post for the day.  God damn I am a happy person.

 

14 thoughts on “Stop Me!!

  1. Keep posting those gorgeous photos. I still love going back and looking at the photos from the first few weeks…babies change so quickly. And little Ray will marvel at those photos as he grows older. Owen and Eamon LOVE looking at pictures from their births.
    Ray is beautiful. That gaze!

  2. he just keeps getting more beautiful with each passing day! I can’t wait to hold him!

    enjoy all these precious moments and truly live in them as they happen

    much love to you all !

  3. Dear Casey,

    I’m Patty’s sister Bonney, and happened to find your blog through hers. I’m very happy for you and your wife, even though I only know you by hearing your name over the years. Everyone says babies are beautiful, but the truth is not all of them are. Ray is one of the most beautiful I’ve seen! I enjoyed your entries for the last few days and will try to check in periodically. If you’re interested in actions to reduce global warming, check out my blog at http://www.carbonlesscopy.blogspot.com. I’m sure most people in Japan are way ahead of us here in the US, though!
    I wish you all the best! It’s a wonderful, exhausting ride!
    Bonney

  4. When my daughter was born she had quite green/blue eyes, but I assumed that as her father is Japanese they would change to the Japanese brown colour so wrote her eye colour on her New Zealand passport as brown. She is now 9 years old and they still haven’t changed… I have no idea what colour to describe them as – they seem to change a lot with the light. There is a chance for Ray to break away from the Japanese brown eyes yet!

  5. thanks for the success story jo! 😉 we’re teetering on the edge of brown, but i’m holding out hope for something more dynamic…

  6. Adorable!

    FYI – upload to flickr…. and copy the html tag instead… you might have to play with the pixel demension to get it to fit correctly… but that’s how I avoid the free storage limits… you can also use photobucket…

Leave a Reply

