A Drive In the Woods

I’m home alone with Ray now.  Chieko is having a little momma time, and went out to eat some sushi in peace and quiet.  After numerous trips up and down the stairs and in and out of every room in the house, he has mercifully nodded off, for how long I don’t know.  Chieko spends every day by herself with Ray, and is the one who has to get up in the middle of the night to feed him, so I try to encourage her to get out by herself, even if it’s only to the grocery store or something.

I had a chance to get out of the house by myself for a little while today, and on my way home I took a quick detour up into the mountains.  At lower altitudes all the snow we had 2 weeks ago is long gone.  We’re forecasted to get more next week, but it’s been above freezing and raining for a while now.  The road I took was quite precipitous at times, wet and slick with leaves and remnants of snow, and a steep drop off down to a river one side.  On the opposite side of the river was some of the largest bamboo I have seen.  I love how it sags over under its own weight.  In the spring, after all the snow melts, the forest is a mess of collapsed and dead bamboo.

IMG_7161

IMG_7162

I’m preparing for a workshop this coming Thursday, where I’ll be putting on an Oasis concert.  I did one last year and dressed up as Neil Young and played some tunes.  I need to figure out how I’m going to bring in some English interaction to give an educational element, and I have a pretty good idea about how to do that.  I also need to practice the songs a bit, and work on a British accent.  Last time, about 160 students showed up, my largest audience by far.  I’m not sure what to expect this time around, since it’s the last workshop (we do them weekly) of the semester, and the students have finals this week.  Most teachers will be finished with classes by Friday, but I have to go a little longer since I cancelled class the day Ray was born and have to make them up.

So as you can see, not a whole lot of excitement going on here.  Ray, of course, woke up while I was writing this post and I had to stop midway through.  Chieko is home now, full of sushi and recharged.  My baby shift is over — off to channel Liam Gallagher.

4 thoughts on “A Drive In the Woods

  1. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if all fathers were as considerate as you! Those 30 minutes that Chieko gets out of the house by herself will seem like a lifetime to her. Keep up the great work!

    1. thanks jo, i’m trying! i almost feel like i’m shirking my duties going to work every morning…there i have some downtime that chieko doesn’t get…puts the daily grind in a new perspective

Leave a Reply

