A Mile In the Rain

I’ll get the Ray portion of this post out of the way first.

IMG_7558

Of Cape Cod’s numerous attributes, the best in my book is that regardless of where you are on this peninsula, it’s never more than a ten minute drive to the beach.  Sandy Neck is five minutes from my folk’s house, so that’s usually where I head to catch a sea breeze.  Ironically the beach is covered in rocks that quickly tenderize sensitive feet.

IMG_7557

I was feeling cabin-feverish this afternoon, and slightly guilty for all the food and booze I’ve been indulging in, so I decided a walk was in order.  I chose some nature trails that run behind Sandy Neck and up into its trademark dunes.  It was a crappy day by all means, but I figured I could stand the drizzle, and the fog promised some cool pictures.  This place is most spectacular under clear blue skies, but today it was pretty cool, too.  I neglected to bring a pair of gloves, which was a mistake, and if I would have wandered around a lot more if my alternating umbrella hand wasn’t repeatedly freezing up.

IMG_7573

IMG_7565

IMG_7564

IMG_7574

IMG_7566

There were deer footprints everywhere, along with rabbit prints and evidence of the numerous coyotes that call the dunes of Sandy Neck home.  I saw lots of seagull parts strewn about the trail and in the brush to the side.  I hope to get back here with Chieko and Ray before we head back to Japan.

The rest of New England is getting hammered by a nice winter storm this evening, but it’s all wind and rain here.  Aside from my outing this afternoon, I’ve been in my pajamas all day.  No complaints.

2 thoughts on “A Mile In the Rain

Leave a Reply

