Dusty

Yesterday was a beautiful day, warm and sunny.  It was very windy though, and as the sun set the wind really picked up.  Japanese houses are built to wobble, given all the earthquakes here, and last night’s wind also set our abode a-shakin’ on numerous occasions.  Chieko was freaked out but I was enjoying it.

Ray decided nobody was going to sleep this morning, so I was up at 7 relieving Chieko, who had already been dealing with him for several hours.  The first thing I noticed was that the car and all the windows were covered in dust.  The second thing that struck me was the wild color of the morning sky.  This picture looks like I added a sepia filter to it, but this is what the neighborhood looked like this morning.  From time to time, when the winds are blowing hard enough in the right direction, Japan gets covered in the infamous yellow dust that drifts over from the Gobi Desert in China.  I’m not sure if this was it, but it made a mess of things wherever it came from.

But the combination of dust, cloud, and a rising sun made for a very atmospheric morning.

IMG_7770

Ray eventually fell asleep with Chieko in bed, and I took a morning drive down to the beach.  The waves were pretty big, but it was windy and messy and not very good picture-taking weather.  I’m glad I spent a lot of time outside yesterday, because today was a stinker weather-wise.  I don’t have much else to say, which is good since Ray is initiating a freakout.  Happy Sunday.

One thought on “Dusty

Leave a Reply

