A Day In the Life

Once again, I started uploading pictures with high intentions for this blog post, but in the meantime it got late, all the booze Chieko’s dad fed me all night hit me like a ton of bricks, and sleep is the most powerful motivation at the moment.  So here’s the short version.

We arrived without incident in Niigata yesterday afternoon.  This morning I was on fertilizer spreading squad for a few hours.  It consisted of hoisting two 400-ish pound bags of fertilizer, emptying them into the hopper on the tractor, then waiting for the hopper to run out and doing it all over again.

IMG_8410

IMG_8416

The day went downhill from there.  I came back to the house to watch the Red Sox lose again to the lowly Orioles.  I’m officially on the anti-Daisuke Matsuzaka bandwagon; need to take his picture down in my office.

After lunch I figured on going out for a drive to take some pictures.  While the sakura peaked a good two weeks ago in Kanazawa, they are just now maxing out here in Niigata.  That, coupled with the snow-capped mountains, promised some great photo opportunities.  Then I got pulled over by the cops, realized I had forgotten my wallet back at the house, and 45 minutes later Ray’s college fund was a $100 poorer.  I won’t get into the details now, but suffice to say I made a mistake, but it was a crock of shit of the variety that while I was standing next to he cop as he filled out my citation, I watched numerous people do the same thing I was in trouble for.  I’m pretty sure the officer was trying hard not to notice.  On the positive side, it was a great chance for me to practice my Japanese.

I came home to a much happier occasion — BBQ.  Here are pictures from the eve.  Good night.

IMG_8471

IMG_8483

IMG_8468

IMG_8496

IMG_8477

5 thoughts on “A Day In the Life

  1. LOL, I haven’t been pulled over in a long time. But after all the times I was pulled over when I had my first mustang it’s nothing to worry about.

Leave a Reply

