Thumper

Chieko needed the car today, so she and Ray came to pick me up this evening. When we got home, our neighbor was out with his rabbit. I’ve been meaning to take some pictures of him and his rabbit, but they aren’t always around. None of the pics I got were very good though — this one is a bit blurry but was the most interesting one I took.

IMG_8923

Living in this neighborhood has given me a great chance to speak Japanese on a regular basis, which I love.  However, the people who are around the most tend to be old folks, who are notoriously difficult to understand and not the best at negotiating a conversation.  Old people here (and everywhere I suppose) mumble and slur words, speak a dialect of Japanese that the people half a mile from here wouldn’t understand, and don’t seem particularly concerned with whether or not I understand what they are saying.  Yet old Japanese people are consistently the most outgoing folks I run into, so I can’t fault them too much.  This neighbor is a nice guy and virtually impossible to understand, and oddly enough he can hardly understand my Japanese, so we have quite a dynamic going on.

I’ve been taking lots of pictures of the rice paddies recently.  Here’s one I like.

IMG_8929

Thing are growing like crazy here, including our garden.  It’s supposed to be a beautiful day tomorrow and I’m hoping to spend the majority of it outside weeding and making slug traps.  I’ll make a post about the garden over the weekend.

Here are a few of the boy.

IMG_8876

IMG_8882

One thought on “Thumper

  1. cool rice pic, and gotta love the boy’s spiked hair!

    I generally find men’s Japanese more difficult than women’s and of course old people’s is the worst. I love when I’m watching TV and they interview old country folk and they put a random $%#&$! on the screen because even they don’t understand what they are saying, that makes me feel better, that I’m not the only one…

Leave a Reply

