Done

IMG_9007

Damn.  That was a long week.  I screwed myself from the beginning by dwelling on the fact that it was a six day week.  Throw in rain and darkness for 5 out of the last 6 days, plus a few extra-curricular work duties, and I had dug myself a nice big hole to wallow in.  But all that’s behind me.

Chieko’s parents are in town for the night to ogle and fawn over Ray.  It’s nice that her parents are only a few hours away, and can visit with such ease.  When Chieko told me they were coming earlier this week, in the midst of my self-pity, I declaired defiantly ‘I’m not doing anything!’  Chieko countered with the keene observation that her parents were coming to see Ray anyways.  Good enough.  I’ve mellowed a bit in my resistance, but I’d rather not leave the yard tomorrow.

IMG_9008

I had a scare tonight when I tried to take some pictures and my camera wouldn’t work.  I was using the P.O.S. kit lens that came with the camera, which I love and have used the crap out of.  I put on another lens and the camera worked fine, and for a few minutes I thought I might be justified in buying a nice new lens.  Sadly, when I put the kit lens back on a few minutes later and did some finagling, it started working again.  In the meantime I had some fun with my equally P.O.S. 50mm lens, which for all its limitations takes some cool pictures.

IMG_9018

And while I’ve got you staring at pictures of wine, I’ll mention that it has become my beverage of choice over the last year or so.   I grew weary of mainstream Japanese beers, which are good but all basically the same.  To get a good Japanese micro-brew, which happily are becoming more and more popular, you pay through the nose.  Wine, on the other hand, is available in wide variety at a very reasonable price.

That bottle of wine is nearly empty now, and I will surely make it an early night, wine induced.  I’m looking forward to not getting up at a quarter to six tomorrow morning, watching some baseball, drinking some coffee, pulling some weeds, all very, very, very slowly.  Hope your weekend is longer than mine!  Good night.

2 thoughts on “Done

Leave a Reply

