Ray @ 8 Months

Today is Ray’s 8 month birthday, but these pictures are from yesterday.

We bought him a pool the other day, and yesterday the powers-that-be declared the rainy season officially OVER, so what better way to celebrate than testing the waters.  There’s all sorts of father/son loveliness on my Flickr site, but here’s a taste.

IMG_9685

IMG_9681

IMG_9705

The pool was quite comfortable, and with the temps rising and me on the verge of summer vacation, perhaps I’ll be spending more time in it than Ray will.  The real objective though is to get the boy in the ocean once the water warms up a bit.

I mentioned the rainy season being over.  In the six or so years I’ve lived in Japan, this year ranks as one of the wettest rainy seasons I’ve experienced.  The blue skies and relatively low humidity is a welcome change, and hopefully they will spur my garden back into action.  Things were growing like mad for a few weeks, but the recent obscene amounts of rain, cloudy skies, and cooler temps stalled things out.  I haven’t been chronicling my gardening experience so much this year, on this blog or otherwise.  Last year I kept meticulous notes on how many tomatoes, egg-plant, etc. that I harvested each day.  The arrival of Ray has kicked the garden into the back seat though.  I’m letting nature take its course by and large, enjoying pulling weeds and other garden maintainance when I have time, but spending a lot less physical and mental energy on the fate of my vegetables compared to last year.

Yesterday and today were picture perfect summer days.  Clear air, big clouds bubbling up behind the mountains all day, green green green.  I know I take a lot of pictures like the one below, but the view doesn’t get old to me.

IMG_9709

Between these and pictures of Ray, perhaps my blog is getting a bit stale.  But we’re planning a little trip for tomorrow (Marine Day in Japan – national holiday), so hopefully I’ll get some good pictures during our travels.  And I took some pictures of a disemboweled duck that was lying in the road during my bike ride this afternoon, so I’ll try to get that up soon.

I’ve got a hell of sunburn, by the way.  Must remember sunscreen; it’s really not that hard.

4 thoughts on “Ray @ 8 Months

  1. Happy 8 month birthday to Ray! Nothing like a dip in the pool. I’ll pass on the upcoming disemboweled duck photo, however. Enjoy your summer break!

    1. thanks mark, for the compliments on the boy and the pictures…what’s up with your blog? i went on the other day and it looks like your domain expired…don’t let it slip away man! catch you on skype in the near future…planning your trip to japan yet?

Leave a Reply

