This Will Not Stand

My boy dipped his toes in the ocean for the first time tonight, and it wasn’t pretty.  I think he was shaken by the sound of the waves ‘crashing’ on the shore, though they were barely waves, and were hardly crashing.  Still, when you’ve roamed the planet for less than a year and widest expanse of water you’ve encountered is the size of a bathtub, I suppose the ocean can be a bit much.  That said, Ray’s going in; hopefully next week once I finish up classes.  The water’s plenty warm and the jellyfish haven’t arrived.

IMG_9834

It looked like a mighty sunset in the works as I was driving home tonight, so I rallied the family into the car as soon as I got home and off went.  The sunset wasn’t as spectacular as I had anticipated, but it was a nice way to finish off the day.

IMG_9823

It’s almost August and I haven’t taken a dip in the sea yet myself, so that certainly needs to change.  Perhaps this weekend, if not then next week after I finish work on Tuesday.

If you haven’t noticed, I added a Twitter feed to the bottom of page.  I’ll be putting up pictures and witticisms there in between my blogging, so please take a look now and then.

And on that note, I should probably start shifting my gravity toward the bed.  While I may be already on vacation in my mind, I do have to show up to work tomorrow.  Good night.

4 thoughts on “This Will Not Stand

  1. When you consider how high the waves look when you are only a couple of feet tall, it can be a little intimidating.

    A few years from now you won’t be able to get him out of the water.

    1. that’s a good point jeff…i’ll make sure it’s a calm day when i take him all the way in…he loves splashing around in water in the bath and in his little pool, so getting him into the ocean shouldn’t be too much of a stretch (i hope!)

  2. Hey! I hope you are all enjoying your summer!!

    I remember (somewhat) as a baby, loving the water, but being totally freaked out about the sand — my mother guesses that it felt like the earth was falling away under my feet. so maybe it was the sand that upset him!

    1. hi sheryl! could have been the sand, but i think it was probably the waves rolling up on him really fast that freaked him out…when is your wedding?

Leave a Reply

