Table Manners

The latest in the extremely infrequent yet extremely cute series of Ray videos.

Away from the dinner table, Ray has been exploring the yard with minimal face-plantage.

IMG_1671

He’s discovered the joy of tire swings.

IMG_1666

And negotiated logs.

IMG_1669

His hobby of emptying the cabinets finally caught up to him when he dropped a bottle of olive oil on his toe yesterday, drawing blood for the first time. Today he slammed his fingers in a drawer, so it’s been a rough couple of days. But as you can see from the video, he’s back in fine spirits.

As for the less-cute of us, we bid goodbye to my brother Devin, who arrived on Friday and left today. It was a short stay, but we take what we can get. Chieko, Ray, and I are heading down to Newport tomorrow to see some friends for the evening, and while we still have  some time left here I can’t help subconsciously shifting from counting how many days we’ve been here to how many days are left before we leave. This visit has been a little different for some reason, perhaps because of Ray. I’ve felt more inclined to stick close to home and just enjoy being here, rather than trying to visit everyone I haven’t seen in the past year. I don’t know if it’s because it’s easier not to drag Ray all over the place, or if there’s something else at work. But I’ve been appreciating being here more than I have before. Those are very general statements, but I’ll do the parsing of my psyche on my own time rather than blabber about it here. It’s not that mysterious or interesting.

The only thing left on my list of things to do before we leave is to take drive to the outer reaches of Cape Cod with ample beach stops along the way. Hopefully the weather will cooperate at some point in the next week so we can make that happen. Until then, time for sleep. (More videos on Flickr, by the way.)

6 thoughts on “Table Manners

  1. Is that Doug chuckling? very fun. I wish I could be there.

    It is pretty typical to gradually be less close to “home” friends, according to my observations. It’s a little sad, but makes a lot of sense. Family is the constant, and there is a limit to how many friends you can maintain (Facebook aside).

    1. Thanks, the bear hat is a huge hit in japan, they’ve never seen anything like it…hard to imagine in the land of cute they haven’t designed them yet

  2. Casey the reason you have been sticking close to home is, if you and Chieko left Ray with your mother for any lenght of time, she would take him and move.

Leave a Reply

