Bubble Boy

Life continues on here on the quiet side of Japan, perhaps abnormally normal considering what is happening on the east coast. The nuclear plant drama is unfolding with an uneasy slowness, overshadowing the personal tragedies that must abound. We’ve donated to the Red Cross, and we aren’t really in any position to head over and offer hands-on help, so the best thing we can do is appreciate and be thankful for the normalcy that we are fortunate enough to have. So that’s what we’ve doing.

While were in America, Ray discovered bubbles. It’s pretty funny how he reacts to them – very giddy and amazed, and of course he must track them down and pop them. If you have a young child and haven’t exposed him or her to bubbles, I highly recommend it.

IMG_1846

IMG_1852

IMG_1863

The morning was beautiful, but in the afternoon it got snowy and otherwise wintery again. During a break in the weather I took Ray out for a short walk. I was sure there would be a rainbow.

IMG_1868

There wasn’t, but the mountains and light were still very nice.

IMG_1871

I threw Ray on my shoulders for the walk home and aimlessly pointed the camera up in his direction, which resulted in a few cool pictures.

IMG_1876

But as swiftly as the weather changes here in Kanazawa, so do the fortunes of Ray’s young life. Returning home, it was time to inflict some trauma on the boy – haircut. I generally resist cutting his hair because I like his hair a little wild and long, plus I don’t want him to have the generic little-boy haircut that most boys get. Nevertheless, even I realized it was time to give him at least a bit of a trim. Poor guy, we put him in his high chair and he did his “itadakimasu” hand clap and bowed, thinking he was about to get a meal. Not so much.

IMG_1886

As far as the non-Ray facets of my life, I really haven’t been doing anything exciting. I’ve been exercising every day either at the gym or on my bike, and I played tennis today and yesterday. It balances out the copious amounts of wine and food that I’ve been enjoying. We have to go back to work at some point next week, though to be honest I’m not sure when – whatever day April 1st is, I think. I heard that one of the new teachers that was hired to join our staff has bailed out, and common sense would dictate that they are American and worried about radiation. Can’t really fault anyone for being freaked out though. If I were about to start a new job in a foreign country that has just experiences an earthquake, tsunami, and is fighting off nuclear disaster, I’d certainly have second thoughts too. Hell, if I lived in the Kanto region of Japan I don’t know if we would have come back from America last week. The result is more work for me and the rest of the teaching staff, but that is small peanuts in terms of inconvenience in Japan these days. You may not be able to find water or toilet paper, but perspective sure as is easy to come by.

That’s the deal from my life, hope all is well in yours. Good night.

Leave a Reply

