Mega

I’ve had several potential blog-worthy topics kicking around, but have been too busy/unmotivated to write them in a timely fashion, so I’m slapping them all together into one, all-encompassing post to sum up all that’s been going on in my weary universe of late. Here, in order of increasing importance in the grand scheme of things.

Item 1: Big-Ass TV

Sunday marked the last day that Japan would be broadcasting an analog signal (is that proper terminology?), which meant that we need to buy a new TV if we wanted to retain access to the crappy selection of channels we have been enjoying. We did some browsing last week, but naturally waited until the last possible moment to pull the trigger and buy a TV. We were definitely going to upgrade from the 15-inch unit we have been using for the past six or seven years (have I been here that long???), it was just a question of size.

The old:

IMG_2684
The new:

IMG_2686
I need to get some cables online so I can hook up my computer and patch the Slingbox through to this giant TV. Until then this TV is not much use to me.

Item 2: Garden

Most of what I planted in the spring survived and is in full swing at the moment. I haven’t had much time to spend tinkering around amongst the veggies, weeds and spider webs, but fortunately my plot is of a size that doesn’t require a whole lot of attention. And even when it does, generally one of the old fogies who spends his or her days out there takes care of minor maintenance for me.

My plot goes back to the corn, across from which are a couple of cucumber plants; in the foreground are way too many beans, a hot red pepper plant and a habanero plant; up to the front I have soy beans (which are sucking, as usual, but not dead), okra, green and red peppers, eggplant, mini and regular tomatoes.

IMG_2703
Back in my yard, the BBQ sanctuary/sunflower garden is doing great, with the first few sunflowers blooming and the rest not far behind. I love sitting in here having a cup of coffee in the morning or a brew in the evening, though I wish I had laid a little more sod as it’s a bit cramped in there.

IMG_2699
IMG_2691
IMG_2689
Item 3: The Boy (for the grandmothers mostly)

Ray is plugging along, getting big, jabbering away, figuring out how to push our buttons more and more each day. I wondered aloud to Chieko this evening what exactly we used to do after coming home from work before Ray was born. I can’t remember. I can’t imagine coming home and having NOTHING to do after work. If I ever have to describe parenthood to someone, I would say that it’s being tired, all the time. But in a good way, and hopefully I won’t be this tired for the rest of my life.

Ray in motion.

IMG_2681
IMG_2674
IMG_2676
IMG_2679
IMG_2663
Ray at rest.

IMG_2713
IMG_2714
IMG_2712

That’s it from here. We’ve been doing a bunch of other normal stuff like BBQ-ing our brains out and enjoying down time on the weekends; good for the psyche, not great for the blog. Life is good. I think I have 8 days of work left, and I am by all means counting. Until next time, whenever that may be, stay well. (And I will get a revamped blogroll up at some point, for my own convenience if nothing else.)

4 thoughts on “Mega

  1. looks like elmo, snuffy and cookie monster are all sleeping in the same position as ray
    xo

    and he is too close to the edge in the (?) rice patty

    1. thanks isaac, i call that one ‘the pregnant nun’…pretty deep, eh? not sure that status of the sumo, i wasn’t actually watching it and am not generally into it that much…

Leave a Reply

