Beach

I’ve probably sung this tune before, but one of the reasons I like living in this part of Japan is that we are surrounded by both mountains and ocean. I have always enjoyed the mountains, but I grew up on the water and would choose it hands-down if I had to  choose. We got our first snow at the end of the week but the mountains have been snowcapped for a little while now, precluding any more bicycle rides or drives up the winding mountain roads until spring. As such, I pointed the car towards the beach when I got the urge to take some pictures this afternoon.

There was a pretty good swell and all kinds of dramatic winter light. The ocean here is much more photogenic in the winter than in the summer.

IMG_3520

IMG_3517

IMG_3510

IMG_3512

IMG_3515

IMG_3507

I’m ashamed to say that having come this far in life, earning a degree in literature along the way, I had until very recently (like last week) never read anything by Ernest Hemingway. How did that happen? But I’m ploughing my way through A Moveable Feast, and it’s time to spend some time doing that now before I call it a day. Good night.

12 thoughts on “Beach

  1. Yes, I love the ocean photos. I have tried to imagine for years where I could leave near the mountains and the ocean. Maine? Seattle is pretty awesome. Or northern California. I don’t think I read the Moveable Feast, but i liked the Hemingway I did read.

    1. you might like a moveable feast, it chronicles his life in paris as a young man…i’m not sure where you can get mountains and coast in the continental US, but hawaii and alaska seem to have it in abundance…

  2. unfortunately there’s already a bunch of crap washing ashore but i managed to keep it out of the pics…always depressing/maddening to see that junk though…happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

