Not Dead, Just Boring

It wasn’t a conscious decision to vacate this blog for nearly a month, but that’s the way it turned out. After an uneventful trip back to Japan on January 1, we spend a few more days at Chieko’s parents, then a few more here in Kanazawa before starting up work again. Since then, the daily routine has kept me busy and away from not just this blog, but many of the ones I read on a regular basis. But we’re at the end of four-day weekend during which we actually did some stuff. It has been cold and snowing off and on for the past week. Around here we have accumulated about a foot, but yesterday I took a drive out into the hinterlands where there is a substantially more snow.

IMG_3735

IMG_3733

IMG_3729

IMG_3724

IMG_3736

IMG_3739

On Thursday night we went away to an onsen. Chieko made reservations for us a few weeks ago at a place about 45 minutes from here. I’m not nuts about onsen, nor do have the ability of many Japanese people to steep themselves in 100 degree water for hours on end, but the prospect of a relaxing night and a soak here and there was appealing to me. We had a nice, Japanese-style room.

IMG_3711

But the highlight was having our own outdoor bath, which was really nice. I only wish it wasn’t covered, because I love sitting in these baths at night and looking at the stars.

IMG_3707

Unfortunately for us, Ray was a total pain in the ass basically the entire time we were there. I took him to the main baths at the hotel, where there are several large indoor baths and several smaller outdoor baths. He cried because he didn’t want to get in, but then he liked it, and cried even harder when I made him leave. He was a little spaz at dinner, running around from one side of the table to the other, not really eating much. We had our own dining room, so he was only bothering us — I would never let him do that if we were in a more public space.

So we got home Friday and I was in a pretty shitty mood, which is no way to come home from a pretty luxurious evening away. But there you have it.

A rundown of the other stuff occupying my life:

Baby #2

Chieko and the new baby are both doing pretty well, but during out trip to the doctor last week we learned that the baby is breach. They gave Chieko some exercises/stretches to do that will hopefully get the baby to change his position. Hopefully they’ll work so Chieko can have a natural delivery and not have to go under the knife.

We’re at a bit of a standoff regarding the name. I really want to name him Elvis, and Chieko really doesn’t.

Boston Sports

I’m loving the Bruins, who are kicking ass. The Pats are in the Super Bowl, again. The Celtics are sort of getting on my radar now that it appears they have a pulse, though I’m not a big basketball fan to begin with and if the Celtics aren’t good my interest quickly wains. And spring training starts in a month. Spoiled.

Work

We have about two more weeks of work before spring break starts. Chieko will officially be unemployed, since her contract is ending, and our income will be instantly halved. This will be the first time in 5 years that we haven’t gone back to the States or done some other traveling over the break, but I’m looking forward to staying local and having a low-key run up to the birth of our second child.

Home Gym

My gym is about $90 a month — expensive. With our soon-to-be-slashed income, coupled with our soon-to-be-even-less-free-time with a second child under our roof, I see a lot of positives to building a gym here at our house. Chieko is as enthused about this idea as she is about naming our second son Elvis, but perhaps I’ve found myself a bargaining chip. The money and time saved by having my setup here will be nice, and we have a spare room that rarely gets used and would work well.

I want to buy a power rack, and adjustable bench, and a set of dumbbells. There don’t seem to be any shops locally that sell this kind of equipment, but have found some on Rakuten. If any of my Japan readers have suggestion about where I can buy gym equipment, online or brick and mortar, please let me know.

I think that’s about it, for now. If I don’t get back here for another month, go Patriots!!

 

12 thoughts on “Not Dead, Just Boring

  1. I love the mountain pictures. Tempts me to upgrade my camera…

    What was the name of the onsen? I keep forgetting to ask you.

  2. Beaufiful snow pictures make me miss skiing. I’m with Chieko on the name…and maybe the gym. Where am I going to sleep when I come visit? (jk) It depends a little on where your child will grow up what you name it, but think about how the other kids will treat him…We will be sorry to miss you at the wedding, but I understand.

    1. don’t worry patty, we have another extra room for you πŸ˜‰ i figure ray is going to stick out regardless as a ‘half’ kid (how they refer to mixed race/nationality kids in japan), so we mine as well give him a cool name…i wish i could be there for the wedding in person, but will definitely be there in spirit…

  3. I’m on Celtisblog everynight! I understand exactly how the new cba effects next years roster….I’m fucking hooked. Being an Eagles fan leaves me rooting for the Pats via proximity of birth but the Celts!!! The comeback against Orlando was awesome..I watched it via ESPN Gamecast

    1. yeah they are starting to gel, i think they struggled a bit because there are so many new guys on the team (and the obvious fact that they are old)…it’s encouraging that they have been winning without rondo or ray allen though…orlando is even more of a basket case than the celts

  4. i distinctly remember the last time the pats were in the super bowl playing the giants… ahh…. nice memories of sitting in that cold classroom on the first floor, room 101 was it? hmm…. i’m sorry i won’t be in KZ to repeat the experience. πŸ˜‰

    in fact, i’ve been dreaming of KIT.

    um, and, as much as i like Elvis, i’m with Chieko, who, please send her big hellos and hugs for me!

    1. it’s funny, sheryl, i have no recollection of what your are talking about πŸ˜‰ i will pass along your greetings to chieko, along with your support for the name elvis!

  5. invest in a good power rack, even if second-hand. You will have your gym costs covered in less than a year.

    Beautiful pictures, as always.

Leave a Reply

