When in doubt…

I really need to do something interesting to breathe some life back into this blog, especially since I’m on vacation. Alas, I’m busy doing everyday stuff that is deeply satisfying to me but not very interesting to write about. It’s supposed to rain for the next week, but I’m determined to take a drive up the Noto Peninsula as soon as the weather clears. Stunning pictures will surely follow. So when in doubt and your blog is collecting dust, why not dump a bunch of pictures of your lovely spawn? At least your mother will be happy.

We took a trip to the beach yesterday to let Ray frolic amongst the sand and dog carcasses. Winter is surely caput here but it’s still deceivingly chilly out, especially with a good wind kicked up.

IMG_3787

IMG_3784

IMG_3802

IMG_3801

When we got home, Chieko promptly lopped off the majority of Ray’s lovely locks. For once, he didn’t flip out and cry like a baby the entire time. It could be that a trash bag is less smothering than the usual large, wire-framed hair-catching contraption that Chieko usually drapes over Ray during hair cuts (which, at a whopping 100 yen, didn’t last very long).

IMG_3833

But the real story in my life is that last week, after pestering my wife for several weeks, I finally took delivery of my home gym: power rack, bench, 100 kg of barbell plates and 60 kg of dumbell plates.

IMG_3835

Having this setup in my our tatami room, I have increased the intensity and frequency of my workouts, so we’ll see what kind of effect it all has on my bodice. The down side is that I’ve also been slipping back into my bottle-or-so-of-wine a night rut that I inevitably revert to during vacations. Need to ratchet it up the will power in that regard, just as soon as my current stash is gone.

Today I picked up my renewed work visa, and at the same time got an application for permanent residency. After that, since we had time, Chieko and I went by work and then the city hall to get the documents that need to be submitted with my application (a form from work stating that I am employed for eternity, and papers from the city hall showing that I pay all my taxes and live where I claim to live). Chieko also needs to get a form from her hometown that proves she is really Japanese and that we are married.

I was surprised that applying for permanent residency was so easy. When I looked into applying for a spousal visa they wanted all sorts of forms and pictures that prove we have known each other for an acceptably long amount of time — a bunch of stuff that seemed like a pain in the butt to track down. It’s really easy to get hitched in Japan though, and I suppose a lot of people try to take advantage of that to get a visa. The paperwork needed for permanent residency is much more straight forward and harder to fudge. If you meet the requirements, it seems like a pretty smooth process though.

Other exciting stuff? Hold on tight for this! Washed our car over the weekend for the first time since the fall! Opened a new bank account today, and get this….closed a different bank account! After that we ate at Subway, and it sucked! (Really, pass on Japanese Subway if you have any expectations.) You want more? At the end of the month I’m reading English story books to little kids at the library! But in all seriousness, it was good to get out and make a dent in a long list of small things that I have been wanting/needing to do…things add up.

Finally, if your sense of humor is in the gutter like mine and you have an hour to kill, please listen to the Comedy Bang Bang podcast, especially the recent episode titled ‘Climbing the Ladder.’

OK, pictures of Noto coming soonish. Hope all is well.

10 thoughts on “When in doubt…

    1. back to basics, jeff, no fancy machines πŸ™‚ the jacket is actually a cheapo EMS ripoff that we got here…i think the label is dangerously close to the patagonia logo, too…thanks for commenting!

  1. Nice post casey! Your boy looks good, albeit somewhat befuddled after the shave. Spawn, carcasses, deceivingly, contraption, whopping and pestering; killer vocab usage- enjoyed reading. Weight set looks good – it better get good use! You dropped me off in Noto Hanto that time, ne? Enjoyed that peninsula. Take care, I’m free most of March in Okayama – so come through if you have a couple free days. Later– Alexis

    1. thanks alexis, you know i love throwing around big words πŸ™‚ the weights are getting daily use, don’t worry…i did drop you off up on noto, wajima if i recall…i’ll try to get down for a visit this month, will be in touch…

  2. That rig is FUCKING AWESOME!!!!
    Did you check the beams under the tatami?

    Man…I’m big time jealous and that hasn’t happened in a LOOOONG time!!

    1. i’m loving having the home setup, was totally worth it…i pulled up the tatami and had planned on setting up on the plywood flooring underneath, but my wife balked at that idea and i was already treading on thin ice with the home gym, so i kept the tatami…seems stable enough and the tatami is actually a nice surface to work out on in bare feet…

Leave a Reply

