Pop

After a few spits and starts, spring is fully underway here and, judging by the weather forecast for the next week, is here to stay. I’d say this is my favorite time of year, but I think I like high summer the best, when things are fully established for the season and growing like mad. The best thing about spring is that it eases all the anticipation that builds up for me waiting for the weather to warm up enough to spur things my garden back to to life. Here’s a load of pictures.

Pear

DSC_0175

Maple, which will turn green once the leaves grow a bit.

DSC_0158

Black Locust, one of my favorite trees in the garden, taking its sweet time.

DSC_0155

Goumi

DSC_0152

Peach

DSC_0143

Comfrey, coming on strong.

DSC_0141

Cattail, dead and alive.

DSC_0153

Wild Strawberries, looking especially genki.

DSC_0146

Today I gave the white clover in my pathways its first haircut of the year.

DSC_0142

I mixed the cut clover into my vegetable beds along with cow manure. I’ll plant veggies in two weeks or so.

DSC_0167

The potatoes I planted a few weeks ago are already popping up.

DSC_0160

Japanese Alder, which is competing with the Black Locust as the fastest growing tree in my yard. It also fixes nitrogen and will eventually provide some nice shade in the summer.

DSC_0147

Side yard looking nice…really need to obscure that cement monstrosity though.

DSC_0172

Spring, baby. Dig it. Off to bed with windows open.

DSC_0138

Leave a Reply

